Homemade Arnica Cream

muscle-relief-creamArnica stimulates the activity of white blood cells, which not only strengthens the immune system, but also digests congested blood and displaces congested fluids in injured tissues, joints, and muscles.

Dealing with Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, we have a LOT of bruising! I used to get so frantic fighting with my children to keep ice on for a half hour to keep the hematomas down. My mom brought over this cream that she made and I thought, “Why not?” I first began to use it on the bruises all over my kids’ legs. Once or twice a day seemed okay to get the bruises gone within a week. I thought it was neat, but didn’t really know how awesome it was.

getty_rm_photo_of_young_girl_bumped_head

The next time my child got a forehead injury with a lump, I could not fight him to keep the ice on. My mom kindly reminded me to use the Arnica cream. The lump had gone down and did not have a lasting bruise. I was shocked. I did the same the next time I had an injury and I could feel the cream “zinging” (circulating the blood.) After we’d run out, my mom made another batch and added in Comfrey and Yarrow. I noticed that the healing of bruises went down to a couple days for me.

ankle-sprains-03

Not long after, I strained my side for the second time. I decided to try the Arnica cream on it. The previous time that had strained it, my side had taken about 6 weeks to recover. This time it took a couple of days. I then used it on the ankle that I kept spraining and my knee that I kept injuring, to my hips subluxing. I am so impressed by how fast I can heal as long as I keep applying it 2-3 times/day.

Arnica

Here are a couple recipes to do plain Arnica cream. You can add other herbs, also to your cream. Make sure that it is the same part of each: If you do Callendula, Arnica, and Comfrey, make sure that its the same amount of each. Example: 1/4 cup Callendula, 1/4 cup Arnica, and 1/4 cup Comfrey. Just don’t let it go above the top of the mason jar and keep room for your oil. (I do not know what is in other store-bought Arnica creams, but I do know that this one has worked for me. I try to be self-sufficient vs. store bought if possible because I do not like additives. Better and Cheaper together equals better over all in my book. My body is very sensitive to harmful additives and I need to be careful.

Arnica  Arnica



WARNING: Do NOT use it on open wounds. It could irritate the wound or cause a rash.

WARNING: Do NOT use while pregnant as it can cause miscarriages.



My favorite way of using the Arnica cream is in a roll up bottle like the ones they make for deoderant (for home) or chapstick (for travel). This way we don’t have to touch it and make a mess.

41JyJFhkqGL51kYvD7WjeL._SX425_

Here are a couple of options to buy your dried herbs from:

http://www.starwest-botanicals.com/category/bulk-herbs/

http://www.herbco.com/c-2-bulk-herbs-spices.aspx



Other Related Articles:

Essential Oils

Herbs

Natural Remedies

Plantain for Stings

Leave a Reply

