Hip Strengthening Exercises

the stronger you are the better you feel

Since my hips have been subluxing lately, I thought hip strengthening should be the first exercises that I’ll post. I’ve been through physical therapy a few times and learned a few things. I haven’t always stuck with them, but they have gotten me stronger when I do so. My first EDS doctor was a Sports Medicine doctor who kept reminding me to keep up the squats. At the time, I had injured my knee, then had a baby, and had lost muscle in the hip area. He kindly let me know that the lack of muscles in my buttocks area was causing my knees and ankles to turn causing more problems. So, my first thought has been always back to squats. It’s not always easy to do squats. You may not want to cause further injury if you’re not strong especially being EDS. So, as always with Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome:

1) Start slow and Don’t overdo

2) Don’t hyper-extend and Keep good form

3) Keep up the repetitions and add more when ready.

Knee.strengthening.exercises.wall.slides



These two exercise are very helpful. When you gain strength, just add weights. I like to start with 2 repetitions of 10 each. Then I flip to the other side and do that, as well. As I gain strength, I go up to 3 repetitions of 10 each. Then I add weights and start back down at 2 repetitions again.

ClamShell1 maxresdefault

You can also do the side leg exercise standing up.

635_2



This exercise has always been one of my favorite, as I learned it with Callenetics when I was a teenager. Callen Pinckney teaches much better form, but these are to gain strength up to do regular exercises. The second picture is for more advanced when you feel ready.

183b03f3de0766dc880f34f8fdb377a6

Fit young brunette pilates instructor showing different exercises on a white background a blue yoga mat. White background NOT ISOLATED




These are simple hip exercises. The goal is to get stronger and do squats without help. That is how you know you’re ready for other work-outs.

strength_squatsStay Zebra Strong!!!!





More articles like this one:

Treatments for Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome

Leave a Reply

